To Catch a Falling Star, Hopukia te whetū rere

Next date: Wednesday, February 28, 2024 | 09:00 AM to 05:00 PM

To Catch a Falling Star thumbnail.png

Escape to Te Awahou Nieuwe Stroom and immerse yourself in the latest exhibition ‘To Catch a Falling Star, Hopukia te whetū rere’ which opens on Saturday 27 January and shows till Friday 22 March 2024.

This brilliant and thought provoking show by Te Awahou Collective is a spiritual interpretation of the work by the late Dr Cliff Whiting, an internationally renowned artist, esteemed teacher and practitioner of Māori arts.

Dr Cliff Whiting made an outstanding contribution to New Zealand arts and culture over a career spanning more than fifty years in the fields of art education, art administration, marae building and renovation. Cliff was also the mastermind behind the traditional and contemporary marae Rongomaraeroa at Te Papa Tongarewa.

Under the guidance of Albert McCarthy the Te Awahou Collective, a group of fourteen local artists, come together for a two month art exhibition showcasing their interpretations of his mahi. 

Varied styles, techniques, disciplines and backgrounds (painting, sculpture, carving, weaving, photography, illustration and digital) have been assembled for this special showing of the local artists and their unique works.

 

When

  • Saturday, January 27, 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, January 28, 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Monday, January 29, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 30, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 31, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, February 01, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, February 02, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 03, 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, February 04, 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Monday, February 05, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Tuesday, February 06, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, February 07, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, February 08, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, February 09, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 10, 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, February 11, 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Monday, February 12, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Tuesday, February 13, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, February 14, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, February 15, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, February 16, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 17, 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, February 18, 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Monday, February 19, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Tuesday, February 20, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, February 21, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, February 22, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, February 23, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 24, 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, February 25, 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Monday, February 26, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Tuesday, February 27, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, February 28, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, February 29, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, March 01, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, March 01, 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 02, 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Monday, March 04, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Tuesday, March 05, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, March 06, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, March 07, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, March 08, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 09, 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, March 10, 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Monday, March 11, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Tuesday, March 12, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, March 13, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, March 14, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, March 15, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 16, 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, March 17, 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Monday, March 18, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Tuesday, March 19, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, March 20, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, March 21, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, March 22, 2024 | 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM

Location

Te Awahou Nieuwe Stroom Māpuna Kabinet Art Gallery, 92 Main Street, Foxton, 4814, View Map

Google Map

Add to Calendar

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed

Email Address*(Required)

Enter your email address or your friend's email addresses all separated by commas.

Occurrence Pattern*(Required)

This event occurs every weekday for 24 times.